Welcome to Fall: Kabocha Squash at Its Best

Image

At the risk of becoming a food blog, I can’t help but post another food related topic. Late summer/early fall is so fantastic for food.  The amount of fresh fruit and veg around makes my little heart go pitter-patter.  One of my absolute favorite foods harvested this time of year is the Kabocha Squash.  When it’s ripe and ready, and prepped right, it is so insanely good.

kobacha

We first came across the Kabocha squash several years ago on a trip to the Oregon Coast. We visited the gorgeous and refreshing Barking Dog Farms – https://www.facebook.com/BarkingDogFarm.   The owner gave us this perfect tip on how to prepare it.  Writing this out may be a bit tough, because, honestly, I don’t really measure this one.  So I will do my best guess, and hope for the best- so these measurements are approximate- modify to your taste.  (I went back and made this recipe again and actually used measuring instruments- have modified based on my findings).  Here it is:

*Roasted Kabocha Squash*

-Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

1 kabocha squash- cut off skin, empty middle (seeds, etc.), cubed- you only want the orange part.

1  1/2 tsp. kosher salt – you can add a bit more after it’s cooked to taste

1/2 tsp. nutmeg

ground pepper (aprox. 1/4 tsp. or so)

4 TBSP. olive oil to coat squash

– Put squash cubes in a bowl, add ingredients and toss till coated well.  I often put all ingredients in a gallon bag, close it, and shake, to ensure the squash is evenly coated.  Then transfer to a cookie sheet or baking pan, preferably metal (I use parchment paper under the squash- less cleanup and usually a better squash- mostly because my pans are lacking!  If you have good bakeware, don’t bother). Spread out the squash to make one layer, if possible.

Bake in oven for approx. 20 minutes.  Check to see if  the squash is fork tender. If it is, take it out.  If not, give it a bit longer.  I usually add a bit more salt to taste if needed.  Enjoy!

IMG_2643_Edit

Ok, obviously, there is no worry about this being a real food blog.  I usually don’t write up recipes.  Apologies for all of the approximations!  With three kids, one being a newborn, and plenty of other things on my plate, I tend to measure and do complicated recipes a lot less than I used to.  I love a great food I can make up fast, easy, and everyone loves it (and seriously, everyone in our house loves this squash!).  That is this recipe- so despite the awful recipe writing I handed you, I hope you’ll be able to get your hands on this fantastic squash and try it out! Happy End of Summer!

!IMG_2646_Edit

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

